Skip to main content

About Staff Council

In March 2002, to give EKU's employees better channels for communication with the administration, President Glasser assembled a steering committee to develop a Staff Council. The committee reviewed similar organizations at several other institutions, and then prepared a set of guidelines and bylaws to meet our own needs. The Board of Regents approved the Staff Council in 2003.


To foster communication and serve as a communication conduit between staff and the President, provide recommendations on matters pertaining to staff, and promote the welfare of all staff through professional development and formal recognition while serving the Mission of the University.

Staff Council Membership 2021-2022

Caelin Scott, Chair

Ashley Thacker, Vice Chair

Heather Foster, Treasurer

Laura Kearns, Communications Officer & Programming Chair

Jeremiah Duerson, Elections & Credentials Chair

Tessie Bowman, Member at Large

Lindsey Carter, Member at Large

Jennifer Cochran, Member at Large

Kimberly Cook, Member at Large

Dekia Gaither, Member at Large

Trevor George, Member at Large

Trent Hurt, Member at Large

Stephanie King, Member at Large

Callie McMullin, Member at Large

Travis Martin, Member at Large

Grant Stepp, Member at Large

Lara Vance, Member at Large

Jessica Ehrhart, Ex-officio Member



Exempt and non-exempt employees who are eligible for full benefits as described in the Staff Handbook, who are not members of the Provost Council and/or the Administrative Council, and who are not eligible for election to the Faculty Senate, shall be eligible to serve.

Election Process and Timeline

Elections will be held annually in November/December. The normal term of office is three years, with one-third of the Council being elected each year.

Standing Committees

Website and Email Address

Find more information about the Staff Council, including the bylaws, nomination forms, and announcements about the elections, at . The email address for Staff Council matters is

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/